figures verified 2026-09-10

Talkwalker vs Brandwatch

Both are enterprise social listening platforms sold through sales teams with demo-gated pricing. Talkwalker (Hootsuite) emphasizes its free Talkwalker Alerts product and AI-powered consumer intelligence. Brandwatch (Cision) emphasizes image recognition, consumer research panels, and historical data. Pick Talkwalker if you want a free alerts product alongside the paid platform and value Hootsuite integration. Pick Brandwatch if you need image recognition, consumer panels, and Cision’s PR ecosystem.

FeatureTalkwalkeras of 2026-09-10Brandwatchas of 2026-09-10discatchthe plan
Built for agents first(partial: an MCP server exists but the product is dashboard-first)nonoyes
MCP servernopartner planned
REST API and webhooksenterpriseenterpriseyes
Push that wakes an agent(calls your agent when a catch fires, instead of waiting to be polled)nonoyes
Waterfall coverage(several providers per source, cheapest first, merged)nonoyes
Pay per unitnonoyes
Query-time price quotenonoyes
Discourse forumsnonoyes
Relevance judged by your model(raw candidates plus a prescore by default)nonoyes
Never posts for younot checkednot checkedyes
Open playbooks(copyable scripts that plug into the API, published under MIT)nonoyes
Entry pricedemo-gateddemo-gatedfree, then units
Entry pricedemo-gated, ~$800–$1,250/mo (checkthat.ai)demo-gated, ~$800–$1,200/mo (checkthat.ai)free, then units
Free alerts productyes (Talkwalker Alerts, 600,000+ users)noyes (free tier)
API accesscredit-based (Search, Stream, Histogram APIs)enterprise-gated, via account managerplanned, included on every tier
Contract termannualannualmonth-to-month
Parent companyHootsuiteCisiondcouple
Image recognitionyes (image and video)yesno
Self-serve signupno (paid); yes (alerts)noyes
Users (entry)unlimited on all tiers~$200–$500/user/mo add-on (checkthat.ai)no seat limit

Price

Neither Talkwalker nor Brandwatch publishes pricing. Both require a demo and an annual contract. Checkthat.ai reports Talkwalker Core at about $800 to $1,250 a month, Analyze at about $1,700 to $2,900, and Business at $3,300 or more (2026-04-23). The same source reports Brandwatch Pro at about $800 to $1,200 a month (2026-03-30). Vendr puts the Brandwatch Enterprise median at about $50,000 a year. Both are positioned for enterprise buyers with dedicated communications teams.

Talkwalker has a free product: Talkwalker Alerts, positioned as a Google Alerts alternative. It has 600,000 or more registered users and covers social media in 22 languages with Boolean operators and source filtering (talkwalker.com/alerts, 2026-09-10). The paid platform is a separate product with a sales process.

Brandwatch charges for additional user seats at roughly $200 to $500 per user per month (checkthat.ai, 2026-03-30). Talkwalker includes unlimited users on all tiers. Both charge separately for add-on modules: Brandwatch for influencer analytics ($20,000 to $150,000 or more a year) and custom reporting ($6,000 to $20,000 a year); Talkwalker for higher query volumes and premium support.

TalkwalkerBrandwatch
Entry tierCore ~$800–$1,250/moPro ~$800–$1,200/mo
Mid-market median~$2,250/mo (Vendr)~$4,167/mo (Vendr)
Free trialnono
Free alertsyes (Talkwalker Alerts)no
Self-serveno (paid); yes (alerts)no
Usersunlimited~$200–$500/user/mo add-on
Contractannualannual
Prices from checkthat.ai and Vendr on 2026-09-10. Neither vendor publishes these numbers.

Sources

Talkwalker claims coverage of over 150 million sources across social media, news, blogs, forums, review sites, and video platforms. It includes image and video recognition. Talkwalker was acquired by Hootsuite and integrates with Hootsuite’s social management platform.

Brandwatch claims coverage of over 100 million sources with image recognition, consumer research panels, and historical data. It is a Cision company with access to Cision’s media database and PR distribution network.

Both cover mainstream social platforms, news, blogs, and forums. Both have image recognition. Neither covers developer sources like Hacker News, Discourse, GitHub, or Stack Overflow with dedicated pages.

Agent surface

Talkwalker has a developer portal at developer.talkwalker.com with a credit-based API. The Search API costs 1 credit per result plus 10 credits per call minimum. The Stream API costs 1 credit per result. The Histogram API costs 10 credits per call. Credits reset monthly. The per-credit price is not publicly disclosed (developer.talkwalker.com/docs/getting-started/credits-pricing, 2026-09-10).

Talkwalker has a minimal MCP presence: one Zapier MCP action ("Add Result") and an internal AI agent called Yeti Agent that uses MCP integrations for real-time social data access (talkwalker.com/blog/ai-agents, 2026). Neither is a standalone MCP server for external agents. No .well-known/mcp.json was found. No llms.txt (talkwalker.com/llms.txt returned no content on 2026-09-10).

Brandwatch has an MCP connector with 8 tools, built through a Vinkius partner integration and updated 2026-06-28 (mcpforclaude.com/mcp/brandwatch). Tools include list projects, list dashboards, list queries, list tags, get mentions, and get volume aggregates. Auth uses Brandwatch API credentials (username, password, client ID), not OAuth. No .well-known/mcp.json was found. No llms.txt (brandwatch.com/llms.txt returned 404 on 2026-09-10).

Neither product pushes to an agent when a mention lands. Both deliver through their dashboards, email, and enterprise integrations. Brandwatch’s API is enterprise-gated and requires access through an account manager. Talkwalker’s API is credit-based with undisclosed per-credit pricing.

What each one exports

Talkwalker’s API exports mentions, volume aggregates, and analytics through a credit-based system. Talkwalker Alerts exports to email only. The paid platform exports to dashboards, PDF reports, and enterprise integrations. Data retention is long-term; historical queries reach back years.

Brandwatch’s API exports mentions, volume data, and analytics to enterprise clients. Export capabilities include bulk data export and historical analysis. CSV export is available from the dashboard. Neither offers a self-serve webhook endpoint. Both retain data for years.

Freshness and trust

Talkwalker has been operating since 2009 and is now part of Hootsuite. It has Forrester and Gartner recognition, enterprise case studies, and a large content library. Talkwalker Alerts ranks for "google alerts alternative" and drives free-tier awareness.

Brandwatch has operated since 2007 and is now part of Cision. It has Forrester and Gartner recognition, Fortune 500 case studies, and one of the highest domain authorities in the category.

Both are established enterprise platforms with strong analyst recognition. The choice between them is typically about which ecosystem (Hootsuite or Cision) the buyer is already in, not which is objectively better.

Who should pick which

Pick Talkwalker if you use Hootsuite, want a free alerts product alongside the paid platform, or value its broader source count claim.

Pick Brandwatch if you are in the Cision ecosystem, need consumer research panels, or value Brandwatch’s historical data and image recognition capabilities.

Neither product sells by the call. Neither pushes to an agent. Neither has a free tier for the full platform. Both require an annual contract negotiated through sales.

The third option

discatch is a social listening API and alert system built for agents. It sells by the unit, not the seat. Self-serve signup, a free tier, and MCP with OAuth are planned. Catches push to an agent when they fire.

Questions

Should I pick Talkwalker or Brandwatch?

Both are enterprise platforms sold through sales with demo-gated pricing starting above $800 a month (checkthat.ai, 2026). Pick Talkwalker if you use Hootsuite and want Talkwalker Alerts as a free backstop. Pick Brandwatch if you need consumer research panels and are in the Cision ecosystem.

Which is cheaper, Talkwalker or Brandwatch?

Checkthat.ai reports Talkwalker Core at about $800 to $1,250 a month and Brandwatch Pro at about $800 to $1,200 (2026). Talkwalker includes unlimited users. Brandwatch charges roughly $200 to $500 per additional user per month.

Does Talkwalker have a free product?

Yes. Talkwalker Alerts is a free email alert service with 600,000 or more users (talkwalker.com/alerts, 2026-09-10). It covers social media, blogs, and forums in 22 languages. The full Talkwalker platform is a separate paid product with a sales process.

Does either have an MCP server?

Brandwatch has an 8-tool MCP connector through a Vinkius partner integration, using password auth (mcpforclaude.com/mcp/brandwatch, updated 2026-06-28). Talkwalker has a 1-action Zapier MCP and an internal Yeti Agent. Neither is a full standalone MCP server with OAuth.

Does Talkwalker have a credit-based API?

Yes. The Search API costs 1 credit per result plus 10 credits per call minimum. The Stream API costs 1 credit per result. Credits reset monthly. The per-credit price is not publicly disclosed (developer.talkwalker.com, 2026-09-10).

Does either push to an agent when a mention appears?

No. Both are dashboard-first products. Alerts go through the dashboard, email, and enterprise integrations. Neither sends a webhook to an agent.

Who ranks for "talkwalker vs brandwatch" today?

Octolens has a dedicated page, plus a three-way comparison including Meltwater. Syften has a blog post. Other results include G2 and review aggregators. Neither Talkwalker nor Brandwatch publishes a head-to-head page.

What is discatch and how is it different?

discatch is a pre-launch social listening API built for agents. It plans to sell by the unit with no seat limit, include API and MCP on every tier, and push to an agent when a catch fires. The prices are placeholders. Talkwalker and Brandwatch are enterprise platforms shipping today.

Last reviewed by , founder, dcouple. Talkwalker and Brandwatch facts read on 2026-09-10. Research: docs/seo/competitor-map.md.