figures verified 2026-09-10

Meltwater vs Talkwalker

Both are enterprise platforms with demo-gated pricing, broad source coverage, and analyst recognition. Meltwater bundles PR distribution, journalist databases, and broadcast monitoring alongside social listening. Talkwalker (Hootsuite) focuses on social intelligence with a free Talkwalker Alerts product. Pick Meltwater if you need PR distribution and media databases in one contract. Pick Talkwalker if you want Hootsuite integration and a free alerts product.

FeatureMeltwateras of 2026-09-10Talkwalkeras of 2026-09-10discatchthe plan
Built for agents first(partial: an MCP server exists but the product is dashboard-first)partialnoyes
MCP serveryesno planned
REST API and webhooksenterpriseenterpriseyes
Push that wakes an agent(calls your agent when a catch fires, instead of waiting to be polled)nonoyes
Waterfall coverage(several providers per source, cheapest first, merged)nonoyes
Pay per unitnonoyes
Query-time price quotenonoyes
Discourse forumsnonoyes
Relevance judged by your model(raw candidates plus a prescore by default)nonoyes
Never posts for younot checkednot checkedyes
Open playbooks(copyable scripts that plug into the API, published under MIT)nonoyes
Entry pricedemo-gateddemo-gatedfree, then units
Entry pricefrom ~$833/mo (Starter)demo-gated, ~$800–$1,250/mofree, then units
PR distributionyes (included)no (through Hootsuite separately)no
Free alerts productnoyes (Talkwalker Alerts, 600,000+ users)yes (free tier)
API accessenterprise-gated (~$130,000+/yr)credit-based (per-credit price not disclosed)included
MCP serveryes (official, hosted since June 2025)partial (1 Zapier action, internal Yeti Agent) planned
llms.txtnonoyes
Parent companypublic (MLTW, Oslo)Hootsuitedcouple
Contract termannual, 3–7% yearly increasesannualmonth-to-month
Broadcast monitoringyespartialno
Self-serve signupnono (paid); yes (alerts)yes

Price

Neither Meltwater nor Talkwalker publishes pricing. Both require a demo and an annual contract. Meltwater has four tiers: Starter, Pro, Enterprise, and Agency. Vendr reports the median Meltwater contract at $25,800 a year from 126 real purchases, with SMB averaging $13,275 and Enterprise averaging $65,020 (octolens.com/blog/meltwater-pricing, updated 2026-09-02). Meltwater contracts typically include 3 to 7 percent annual price increases.

Talkwalker has three tiers: Core, Analyze, and Business. Checkthat.ai reports Core at about $800 to $1,250 a month, Analyze at about $1,700 to $2,900, and Business at $3,300 or more (2026-04-23). Talkwalker includes unlimited users and professional onboarding on all tiers. Talkwalker Alerts is a separate free product with 600,000 or more users.

Meltwater is publicly traded (MLTW on Oslo Stock Exchange). It has over 27,000 customers and offices in over 25 countries (meltwater.com/en/pricing, 2026-09-10). A UK government rate card puts the base platform at about $29,000 a year for 10 users and 25 searches.

MeltwaterTalkwalker
Entry tierStarter from ~$833/moCore ~$800–$1,250/mo
Median contract~$2,150/mo (Vendr, 126 purchases)~$2,250/mo (Vendr)
Free trialnono
Free alertsnoyes (Talkwalker Alerts)
Self-servenono (paid); yes (alerts)
Annual increases3–7% built innot disclosed
Prices from Vendr, octolens.com, and checkthat.ai on 2026-09-10. Neither vendor publishes these numbers.

Sources

Meltwater claims coverage across social media, news, broadcast, print, and podcasts. It includes a media database with over 300,000 journalist contacts and PR distribution capabilities. It is one of the few monitoring tools that covers broadcast and print.

Talkwalker claims over 150 million sources across social media, news, blogs, forums, review sites, and video. It includes image and video recognition. Since the Hootsuite acquisition, it integrates with Hootsuite’s social management platform.

Meltwater covers broadcast and print. Talkwalker has a higher source count claim for social and digital. Both cover mainstream social platforms and news. Neither covers developer sources with dedicated pages.

Agent surface

Meltwater has an official MCP server, hosted natively since June 2025 and expanded in July 2026 (developer.meltwater.com/guides/meltwater-mcp/overview/). Capabilities include access to saved searches, tags, mentions, analytics, report creation, and alert tracking. Access requires a "Meltwater MCP package" add-on. Auth uses API tokens today; OAuth 2.0 is planned for later in 2026. No .well-known/mcp.json was found. No llms.txt (meltwater.com/llms.txt returned 404 on 2026-09-10).

Meltwater’s API is enterprise-gated. Third-party reports put the API tier at roughly $130,000 or more a year (octolens.com, 2026-09-02). Most core packages include an "inclusive API allowance." Increasing limits requires a separate "Meltwater Insights API package" (developer.meltwater.com/docs/meltwater-api/getting-started/usage-limits/, 2026-09-10).

Talkwalker has a credit-based API at developer.talkwalker.com. The Search API costs 1 credit per result plus 10 credits per call minimum. Its MCP presence is minimal: one Zapier action and an internal Yeti Agent. No llms.txt. No .well-known/mcp.json.

Neither product pushes to an agent when a mention lands. Both deliver through their dashboards, email, and enterprise integrations. Meltwater includes AI visibility tracking (brand mentions in AI and LLM outputs) on all tiers (meltwater.com/en/pricing, 2026-09-10).

What each one exports

Meltwater’s developer portal offers Export Console, Analytics Console, and Search Console (developer.meltwater.com, 2026-09-10). Export formats include dashboard reports, PDF, and enterprise integrations. Data retention is long-term. The API exports mentions, analytics, and media intelligence data.

Talkwalker’s API exports mentions, volume aggregates, and analytics through its credit-based system. Talkwalker Alerts exports to email only. The paid platform exports to dashboards, PDF reports, and Hootsuite integrations.

Freshness and trust

Meltwater has operated since 2001 and is publicly traded. It has 27,000 customers, offices in over 25 countries, and Gartner and Forrester recognition. It is the largest company in the media monitoring space by revenue.

Talkwalker has operated since 2009 and is now part of Hootsuite. It has Forrester and Gartner recognition and enterprise case studies. Talkwalker Alerts drives free-tier awareness.

Both are established enterprise platforms. Meltwater has the longer track record and public-company transparency. Talkwalker has the Hootsuite integration advantage.

Who should pick which

Pick Meltwater if you need PR distribution, journalist databases, broadcast monitoring, and media intelligence in one contract.

Pick Talkwalker if you want Hootsuite integration, a free alerts product, and social intelligence without the PR distribution bundle.

Neither product sells by the call. Neither pushes to an agent. Neither has a free tier for the full platform. Both require an annual contract negotiated through sales.

The third option

discatch is a social listening API and alert system built for agents. It sells by the unit, not the seat. Self-serve signup, a free tier, and MCP with OAuth are planned.

Questions

Should I pick Meltwater or Talkwalker?

Both are enterprise platforms with demo-gated pricing and annual contracts. Pick Meltwater if you need PR distribution, journalist databases, and broadcast monitoring in one contract. Pick Talkwalker if you want Hootsuite integration and a free alerts product.

Which is cheaper, Meltwater or Talkwalker?

Vendr reports the median Meltwater contract at $25,800 a year from 126 purchases. Checkthat.ai reports Talkwalker Core at about $800 to $1,250 a month. Meltwater contracts include 3 to 7 percent annual increases. Both require annual contracts.

Does Meltwater include PR distribution?

Yes. Meltwater bundles media monitoring with PR distribution, journalist databases (over 300,000 contacts), and broadcast tracking. Talkwalker does not include PR distribution; that capability comes through Hootsuite separately.

Does Talkwalker have a free product?

Yes. Talkwalker Alerts is a free email alert service with 600,000 or more users (talkwalker.com/alerts, 2026-09-10). It covers social media, blogs, and forums in 22 languages. The full platform is a separate paid product.

Does either have an MCP server?

Meltwater has an official MCP server hosted natively since June 2025, expanded in July 2026 (developer.meltwater.com). Access requires a Meltwater MCP package add-on. Talkwalker has a 1-action Zapier MCP and an internal Yeti Agent, but no standalone MCP server.

Does either push to an agent when a mention appears?

No. Both are dashboard-first products. Alerts go through the dashboard, email, and enterprise integrations. Neither sends a webhook to an agent.

Who ranks for "meltwater vs talkwalker" today?

Octolens has a page for this pair. Syften has a blog post. SnitchFeed has a Cision vs Meltwater comparison. Other results include review aggregators. Neither Meltwater nor Talkwalker publishes a head-to-head page.

What is discatch and how is it different?

discatch is a pre-launch social listening API built for agents. It plans to sell by the unit with no seat limit, include API and MCP on every tier, and push to an agent when a catch fires. The prices are placeholders. Meltwater and Talkwalker are enterprise platforms shipping today.

Last reviewed by , founder, dcouple. Meltwater and Talkwalker facts read on 2026-09-10. Research: docs/seo/competitor-map.md.