figures verified 2026-09-10

Brandwatch vs Meltwater

Both are enterprise platforms sold through sales teams. Brandwatch (Cision) is positioned as consumer intelligence and social listening with AI image recognition. Meltwater is positioned as media intelligence and social listening with PR distribution. Neither publishes pricing. Neither is self-serve. Both start above $800 a month. Pick Brandwatch if you need consumer research panels and image recognition. Pick Meltwater if you need PR distribution, media databases, and journalist outreach alongside monitoring.

FeatureBrandwatchas of 2026-09-10Meltwateras of 2026-09-10discatchthe plan
Built for agents first(partial: an MCP server exists but the product is dashboard-first)nopartialyes
MCP serverpartneryes planned
REST API and webhooksenterpriseenterpriseyes
Push that wakes an agent(calls your agent when a catch fires, instead of waiting to be polled)nonoyes
Waterfall coverage(several providers per source, cheapest first, merged)nonoyes
Pay per unitnonoyes
Query-time price quotenonoyes
Discourse forumsnonoyes
Relevance judged by your model(raw candidates plus a prescore by default)nonoyes
Never posts for younot checkednot checkedyes
Open playbooks(copyable scripts that plug into the API, published under MIT)nonoyes
Entry pricedemo-gateddemo-gatedfree, then units
Entry pricedemo-gated, ~$800–$1,200/modemo-gated, from ~$833/mofree, then units
API accessenterprise-gated, via account managerenterprise-gated (~$130,000+/yr)included
Contract termannualannual, 3–7% yearly increasesmonth-to-month
Self-serve signupnonoyes
PR distributionno (through Cision separately)yes (included)no

Price

Neither Brandwatch nor Meltwater publishes pricing. Both require a demo and an annual contract. Third-party trackers report Brandwatch starting above $800 a month. Meltwater is reported by Brand24 and other comparison pages at about $15,000 a year, or about $1,250 a month. Neither has a free trial or self-serve signup.

Checkthat.ai reports Brandwatch Pro at about $800 to $1,200 a month and Brandwatch Enterprise median at about $50,000 a year (2026-03-30). Vendr reports the median Meltwater contract at $25,800 a year from 126 real purchases, with Starter from about $10,000 a year (octolens.com/blog/meltwater-pricing, updated 2026-09-02). Both charge separately for add-on modules. Brandwatch charges about $200 to $500 per additional user seat per month. Meltwater contracts include 3 to 7 percent annual price increases.

BrandwatchMeltwater
Pricing modeldemo-gated, annualdemo-gated, annual
Entry price~$800–$1,200/mo (checkthat.ai)from ~$833/mo (Vendr)
Median contract~$50,000/yr (Vendr)~$25,800/yr (Vendr, 126 purchases)
Free trialnono
Self-servenono
Annual increasesnot disclosed3–7%
Prices from checkthat.ai, Vendr, and octolens.com on 2026-09-10. Neither vendor publishes these numbers.

Sources

Brandwatch claims coverage of over 100 million sources across social media, news, blogs, forums, review sites, and consumer research panels. It includes image recognition for logos and scenes in social media images. Historical data reaches back years.

Meltwater claims coverage across social media, news, broadcast, print, and podcasts, with editorial databases for journalist outreach. It has over 300,000 media contacts and includes PR distribution alongside monitoring.

Both cover the mainstream social platforms and news. Meltwater adds broadcast and print monitoring plus AI visibility tracking (brand mentions in AI and LLM outputs) on all tiers (meltwater.com/en/pricing, 2026-09-10). Brandwatch adds consumer research panels and image recognition. Brandwatch’s data network lists Facebook, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, Reddit, YouTube, and Asia-Pacific platforms (brandwatch.com/datanetworks/, 2026-09-10). Neither covers developer sources like Hacker News, Discourse, GitHub, or Stack Overflow with dedicated tool pages.

Agent surface

Brandwatch has an MCP connector with 8 tools through a Vinkius partner integration, updated 2026-06-28 (mcpforclaude.com/mcp/brandwatch). Auth uses Brandwatch API credentials (username, password, client ID), not OAuth. Brandwatch’s API is enterprise-gated and requires requesting access through an account manager. No llms.txt (404 on 2026-09-10). No .well-known/mcp.json.

Meltwater has an official MCP server, hosted natively since June 2025 and expanded in July 2026 (developer.meltwater.com/guides/meltwater-mcp/overview/). Auth uses API tokens today; OAuth 2.0 is planned for later in 2026. Access requires a "Meltwater MCP package" add-on. No llms.txt (404 on 2026-09-10). No .well-known/mcp.json.

Meltwater’s API is gated to the Enterprise tier at roughly $130,000 or more a year (third-party reports, 2026-09-02). Most core packages include an "inclusive API allowance" that can be expanded with a separate Insights API package. Brandwatch’s API pricing is negotiated with an account manager and not publicly disclosed.

Neither product pushes to an agent when a mention lands. Both deliver through their dashboards, email, and enterprise integrations.

What each one exports

Brandwatch exports mentions, volume data, and analytics through its enterprise API. It supports bulk data export and historical analysis. CSV export is available from the dashboard. Meltwater offers Export Console, Analytics Console, and Search Console through its developer portal (developer.meltwater.com, 2026-09-10). Both retain data for years. Neither offers a self-serve webhook endpoint.

Freshness and trust

Brandwatch is a Cision company with Forrester and Gartner recognition. It has extensive case studies with Fortune 500 brands and a large content library. The domain authority is one of the highest in the social listening category.

Meltwater has operated since 2001 and is publicly traded (MLTW on Oslo Stock Exchange). It has offices in over 25 countries, 27,000 customers, and analyst recognition from Gartner and Forrester. It is the largest company in the media monitoring space by revenue.

Both products have stronger enterprise trust signals than any other tool in this category. Brandwatch has G2 badges visible on its pricing page (brandwatch.com/pricing/, 2026-09-10). Meltwater claims 24/7 multi-channel support on all plans and has a public UK government rate card. Neither is positioned for indie developers, startups, or AI agents. Both target VP-level buyers at companies with dedicated communications teams.

Who should pick which

Pick Brandwatch if you need consumer intelligence, social listening analytics, image recognition, and historical research. It is a pure monitoring and analytics platform.

Pick Meltwater if you need media monitoring plus PR distribution, journalist databases, and broadcast tracking in one contract. It bundles monitoring with earned media management.

Neither product sells by the call. Neither pushes to an agent. Neither has a free tier or self-serve signup. Both require an annual contract negotiated through sales.

The third option

discatch is a social listening API and alert system built for agents. It sells by the unit, not the seat. Self-serve signup, a free tier, and MCP with OAuth are planned. Catches push to an agent when they fire.

Questions

Should I pick Brandwatch or Meltwater?

Both are enterprise platforms with demo-gated pricing. Pick Brandwatch if you need consumer intelligence, image recognition, and research panels. Pick Meltwater if you need PR distribution, journalist databases, and broadcast monitoring in one contract.

Which is cheaper, Brandwatch or Meltwater?

Checkthat.ai reports Brandwatch Pro from about $800 a month. Vendr reports the median Meltwater contract at $25,800 a year from 126 purchases. Both require annual contracts. Meltwater includes 3 to 7 percent annual price increases.

Can I sign up for Brandwatch or Meltwater without a demo?

No. Both require a sales conversation. There is no self-serve signup and no visible free trial for either product as of 2026-09-10.

Does either have an MCP server?

Yes, both. Brandwatch has an 8-tool MCP connector through a partner, using password auth (mcpforclaude.com, updated 2026-06-28). Meltwater has an official MCP server hosted natively since June 2025 (developer.meltwater.com). Neither uses OAuth today.

Does Meltwater include PR distribution?

Yes. Meltwater bundles media monitoring with PR distribution, journalist databases (over 300,000 contacts), and broadcast tracking. Brandwatch is monitoring and analytics only; PR distribution comes through Cision separately.

Does either push to an agent when a mention appears?

No. Both are dashboard-first products. Alerts go through the dashboard, email, and enterprise integrations. Neither sends a webhook to an agent.

Who ranks for "brandwatch vs meltwater" today?

Octolens has a dedicated page. Syften has a blog post. Other results include CommunityTracker, G2, and review aggregators. Neither Brandwatch nor Meltwater publishes a head-to-head page.

What is discatch and how is it different?

discatch is a pre-launch social listening API built for agents. It plans to sell by the unit with no seat limit, include API and MCP on every tier, and push to an agent when a catch fires. The prices are placeholders. Brandwatch and Meltwater are enterprise platforms shipping today.

Last reviewed by , founder, dcouple. Brandwatch and Meltwater facts read on 2026-09-10. Research: docs/seo/competitor-map.md.